The Michigan texting ban was signed April 30 by Gov. Jennifer Granholm on the Oprah Winfrey Show. Many watched as Michigan became the 24th state to ban texting while driving. This ban is now law and takes effect today! Police are now allowed to pull a driver over if they notice unusual swerving, moving in and out of a lane, or just suspicious driving. The fines range from $100 for a first time offense up to $200 for a second offense. However, no points will be given regardless of the number of offenses. Driving down I-95 you may now notice billboards, advertisements, and public service announcements reminding MI drivers of the newly enforced law. The Office of Highway Safety Plan created this campaign and labeled it "Hands on the Wheel". Some wonder, 'How can they prove I was texting?' or 'What if I was dialing a number?' Well, these questions portray the sketchyness of this law. Police officers claim they won't "hunt" down texters...but we know how that story goes. The law is a good way to hopefully lower the accident statistics and I'm proud of our state. I would be a hypocrite if I said I have not checked my phone or texted at a red light, however this law will definitely make me more aware and cautious of doing these actions. Please be careful and don't put others' lives at danger because you didn't want to miss an "important" text.